Choose a contact to collaborate with by entering a name, email address, or searching your address book.
Can edit permissions will be selected automatically in the drop-down. If desired, change to Can view instead.
Add a message (optional).
The “share” navigation pane in Word will display who owns the document, who can edit the document, and who can view the document.
On the receiving end, the person invited to edit your document will receive an email with the subject line, “I shared [name of document] with you in OneDrive.” (A piece of advice: we live in an age of malware, so let your collaborator know the document is coming.)
Co-editing in Word
After you share your document, you can collaborate on that file at the same time with others. Microsoft recommends working together in Word Online to see real-time changes. Colored flags will show you exactly where in the document each person is working.
Chat in Word
When editing together online, select Chatto open a chat window. Type your message and press Enter to send.
Chat history is not saved when you close a document. If the chat conversations are important, use copy and paste to preserve them: click in the Chat box, hit <Ctrl A> to select all, followed by <Ctrl C> to copy. Open a new Word Document, paste the chat history using <Ctrl V>, save, and close.
Using Chat vs. Comments
Microsoft suggests using Chat when you want to communicate with others immediately, for example, to ask a quick question or divide sections among the co-editors.
Use Comments (on the Review tab on the ribbon) when you want to attach a comment to a specific selection within the document, such as when you need to ask if a word or phrase should be changed. Comments are saved with the document and can be replied to, marked as done or deleted.